PhUSE members during the event.

The one-minute poster session, which we held as a plenary for the first time this year, was also many people’s favourite session. Each of our 61 poster presenters had the opportunity to present one slide for one minute, to give people a taster of what they could see if they went to view their poster. If you went over a minute, the bell was rung and you had to leave the stage! People must have learnt from last year as I think David only got to ring the bell once.

Our four poster prize winners were: Gaëlle Saint-Hilary and Pavel Mozgunov: A novel measure of drug benefit-risk assessment based on Scale Loss Score (SloS); Lukas Aguirre Davila, Kristina Weber et al.: Reliability of observational analyses in light of a re-analysis of a DIG trial; Jules Hernández-Sánchez: Hodges–Lehmann estimator of the difference between Kaplan–Meier curves with censoring; and Nicolas Ballarini, Yi-Da Chiu et al.: Graphical displays for subgroup analysis in clinical trials.      

Tuesday evening's gala dinner, sponsored by Cytel, was another spectacular event and provided a great setting to celebrate PSI’s achievements over the past 12 months, including award winners. This year, we had two people winning both the Mick Godley Award – Ingrid Franklin and Amanda Darekar — and the RSS/PSI Award — Simon Bate and Mouna Akacha.  

Finally, thanks to all the exhibitors, sponsors, presenters (oral and posters) and delegates, who make the conference the fun three days it is and to the Scientific Committee and MCI, who I rely so heavily on. The last two years as Conference Chair has been a rewarding and sometimes challenging role and I know Kate Taylor, your next Conference Chair, will do a fabulous job.

The 2019 PSI Conference will be taking place in London 2nd to 5th June, so watch out for future announcements. We hope to see you there!